New Offerings at the 8th Annual Teddy Bear Picnic

This year’s [Teddy Bear Picnic](https://www.eventbrite.com/e/teddy-bear-picnic-2017-tickets-31333135251) on March 5 will have a special guest: Parker Bear, star of a new book published by the Conservancy. “Here, There and Everywhere with Parker Bear” is a children’s book written by a group of volunteer Park Angels and photographed by Charleston photographer Libby Williams.

In the book, Parker Bear heads out on a Charleston parks adventure, visiting 10 city parks before meeting his friends at Hampton Park for the annual Teddy Bear Picnic. Along the way, Parker tends to the vegetables at [Magnolia Community Garden](https://www.charlestonparksconservancy.org/park/magnolia-park-and-community-garden) in West Ashley, jumps rope with children at [St. Julian Devine Community Center](https://www.charlestonparksconservancy.org/park/st-julian-devine), meets a tourist at White Point Garden, buys honey at the Charleston Farmers Market in [Marion Square](https://www.charlestonparksconservancy.org/park/marion-square) and sails a model boat at [Colonial Lake](https://www.charlestonparksconservancy.org/park/colonial-lake).

The book ends with Parker meeting children and their teddy bears at [Hampton Park](https://www.charlestonparksconservancy.org/park/hampton-park) where they enjoy an afternoon in the park. Parker Bear will be at this year’s Teddy Bear Picnic where families can pick up a [pre-ordered signed copy](https://www.eventbrite.com/e/teddy-bear-picnic-2017-tickets-31333135251#tickets) of “Here, There and Everywhere with Parker Bear.” Limited copies will be available for purchase at the picnic.

The annual Teddy Bear Picnic is 1:30-4:30 p.m. Sunday, March 5 in Hampton Park, 30 Mary Murray Drive. Admission and all activities are free. Save time at check-in and [pre-register for the picnic](https://www.eventbrite.com/e/teddy-bear-picnic-2017-tickets-31333135251). You also can [pre-order a signed copy](https://www.eventbrite.com/e/teddy-bear-picnic-2017-tickets-31333135251) of “Here, There and Everywhere with Parker Bear” for $12 or two for $20.

Enjoy kid-friendly musical entertainment with [The V-Tones of Charleston](https://www.facebook.com/TheVTonesofCharleston/), double dutch jump rope with the [St. Julian Devine Jazzy Jumpers](http://www.charleston-sc.gov/documentcenter/view/3791) and hip hop dancing. Dress your bear in his best outfit and join in the bear fashion show called Project Runway: Bear Style. Plus the popular Teddy Care Station is back for “injured” bears needing treatment and well bear checkups. Other activities include face painting, seed planting, cookie decorating, crafts and hula hooping. The afternoon wraps up with a teddy bear parade.

Families are invited to bring a picnic lunch, blankets and chairs to enjoy an afternoon in the park. Food trucks will have food available for purchase. To read more about the making of “Here, There, and Everywhere with Parker Bear,” click [here](https://www.charlestonparksconservancy.org/news-detail/behind-the-book-the-making-of-here-there-and-everywhere-with-parker-bear).

Back to News